• Modelers Alliance has updated the forum software on our website. We have migrated all post, content and user accounts but we could not migrate the passwords.
    This requires that you manually reset your password.
    Please click here, http://modelersalliance.org/forums/login to go to logon page and use the "Forgot your Password" option.

Resin Question

Teaker11

Hi all
I have a part that is warped, If I apply heat say from a hair dryer would that be enough to streighten out the part? I don't want to break it and I have never tried it before.
Thanks
JIm

Somewhere in a past life Saul posted step by step pictures of straightening resin in hot water, hopefully he'll come along and maybe share those again.

http://tanksandthings.com/index.php?option=com_kunena&Itemid=53&func=view&catid=36&id=22580

Thank you for the tip, That was very interesting I didnot know that resin has memory. Unfortunally this will not work in my case but if it will bend in water it should work under slow heat (I hope) I only have to move the assembly up less than an 1/8 of an inch to align the missle launchers. I will post before and after pictures this may help some on else.
Jim :unsure:

I wonder what happened to all the text I had written! :idonno

Anyway, in it, I explained that I usually give all resin pieces the hot water treatment before building. In the case of built models, I try to take the warped piece off, even if it means sawing an item and replacing after the treatment with a shim the same thickness of the saw blade I used. In some cases, I suspend the glued on part in the hot water using the rest of the kit as the handle.

If you can, post a photo before you try anything.

Regards,