• Modelers Alliance has updated the forum software on our website. We have migrated all post, content and user accounts but we could not migrate the passwords.
    This requires that you manually reset your password.
    Please click here, http://modelersalliance.org/forums/login to go to logon page and use the "Forgot your Password" option.

Lesson One. the basic wash Part 1

bob letterman

Master at Arms
Staff member
Lesson one. The basic wash.

For this step, you will need;

1) Artist's Rectified turpentine.
2) Raw Umber artist's oil.
3) An old t-shirt, (Preferably white or light colored).
4) A wide, flat soft bristle brush, (Preferably a Filbert)
5 An old bottle, cleaned thoroughly.
6) A pallet, I use an old card stock with a shiny finish. (To avoid the paint absorbing into the pallet.

pic01.jpg

Then, squeeze out about a half inch of the oil onto the pallet.

pic02.jpg

Throughout this basic wash tutorial, I am going to assume that everybody watching is a complete novice, so, no, I'm not a jerk, I want to make sure I cover it for everybody! I swear, most model tutorials always seem to me that the author is more concerned with impressing his readers than teaching anything. Just sayin'

Just in case you are too young to know what "blot" means. I'm old and we used to blot ink! Blot is placing your T-shirt covered finger on the wet wash, soaking up what it does, Never wiping, pulling back, moving your finger to a clean area of the t-shirt, then blotting once more and repeating over and over and over.

Also, rectified turpentine is extremely flammable. Use caution when using it. I always pour some into an old, clean bottle that is capable of being sealed. Always seal any container of rectified turpentine when not in use. I would advise strongly against using it out of the container it comes in. I don't smoke, but I would strongly advise any of you smokers to never smoke around rectified turpentine.

Then the brush.

pic03.jpg