• Modelers Alliance has updated the forum software on our website. We have migrated all post, content and user accounts but we could not migrate the passwords.
    This requires that you manually reset your password.
    Please click here, http://modelersalliance.org/forums/login to go to logon page and use the "Forgot your Password" option.

Special Lightning Sailboat

MM2CVS9

Well, even though I have 5 builds on the bench already, I took on another one. A fellow bought a Dumas kit of the Lightning out of town. When he returned home, he went to the LHS to find a builder for the kit. The in house builder there was not interested in doing it, so he contacted Rod at the model club. Rod really builds gold medal winning ships that look like wood, but they are all plastic. He wasn't interested either. He asked if I would be interested (I felt good that he thought I was a good enough builder to recommend) and if so to contact "Q" at the LHS to follow up on it, which I did. He put the guy in touch with me, we talked and the upshot is that I was hired to do the build. I'm getting paid to do what I love to do! :yipee We'll see how I feel about that later. Nothing like a little pressure!

It is a 1:12 scale Dumas kit, and like all wood "kits", it is more a box of materials than a kit. I've done several of the Midwest kits (they have recently stopped making kits) and this one is similar. It has a 24 page manual with 9 pages of drawings, a 24" X 36" sheet of full size drawings, the wood, mostly mahogany and basswood, and a few do-da's of hardware, wire, brass tube and wire, some string for rigging. The rigging, eyebolts and stuff I'll replace with something I like better.