• Modelers Alliance has updated the forum software on our website. We have migrated all post, content and user accounts but we could not migrate the passwords.
    This requires that you manually reset your password.
    Please click here, http://modelersalliance.org/forums/login to go to logon page and use the "Forgot your Password" option.

Pigment Fixer

The Zod

So I understand the MIG Pigment Fixer. I brush that stuff on,then apply the pigments? Can I brush wet pigment on,or only dry?

Yes.

All the above. And someone check me if I'm wrong because I'm not that good with pigments. But you can apply the dry pigments then airbrush the fixer to hold them in place, or mix pigments with the fixer and apply wet.

Think of it this way, the pigments are sort of the same as the pigments in the bottom of an unshaken jar of paint. The other stuff is the fixer or carrier medium. Medium is the term used in art if I'm not mistaken. The way I understand it is the Fixer is just another medium for the pigments.

That help?? :idonno

Yes.

All the above. And someone check me if I'm wrong because I'm not that good with pigments. But you can apply the dry pigments then airbrush the fixer to hold them in place, or mix pigments with the fixer and apply wet.

Think of it this way, the pigments are sort of the same as the pigments in the bottom of an unshaken jar of paint. The other stuff is the fixer or carrier medium. Medium is the term used in art if I'm not mistaken. The way I understand it is the Fixer is just another medium for the pigments.

That help?? :idonno

Sure does. (y)

Wetting it and painting it on is great as I find I can use some fixer on a brush after its dry and remove excess or lighten the efect.

Hi Zod

Some good info here:

http://www.armorama.com/modules.php?op=modload&name=SquawkBox&file=index&req=viewtopic&topic_id=202078&page=1

See Rinaldi's post

Tom

Oh my!